Marathon Fail… Twin Cities Marathon

Seriously, why do I do this to myself???????  For some reason it really sounded like a good idea, not sure why because the first one didn’t go so well.  I honestly thought, experience would be on my side and I’d do much better than the last time…  I was wrong and I need to remember to stop believing in myself 😉

I could blame a lot of things on another failed marathon attempt, but I take full responsibility…  I am not meant to run 26.2 miles, and I understand that now.  I truly enjoy running and like seeing what I can do (obviously it’s not marathons).

I don’t mean for this post to be a pity party, this isn’t an Attention Seeking post.  I’m not looking for uplifting words like “At least you finished” or “That’s impressive, I would never do that”, or “Lots of people wouldn’t have even started”.  All of those are true sentiments and I appreciate people’s candor, however, it was awful and I’m not all that impressed with myself.  But that’s just how I feel about me… I’d be super proud of anyone else 🙂

My training started off really well, I created a spreadsheet with a variety of runs (hills, speed work, long runs) as well as lifting/cross-training days, rest days and stretching days.  About a month in it pretty much went out the window; I have the worst immune system ever!!  I got a really bad cold in May, June & September… getting chest congestion while trying to train for a marathon really don’t work well and my training got completely off track.  I thought after the June sickness I’d be able to make up for lost mileage and I was actually doing pretty well…  until I got sick again in September, a little less than 2 weeks before the marathon.  And on top of getting sick, at a Bachelorette Party (a week before the marathon) a drunken cowboy stepped on my foot and it was swollen and badly bruised… shoes hurt (yep, I’m making excuses, didn’t I say I take full responsibility? 😉 ).

I was actually debating not even doing the marathon.  My husband and I tried (well I tried, Matt kindly ran with me) running a week before the marathon… 1.5 miles and I thought I was going to die!  I gave myself til the end of the week before I made a decision.  Luckily, I had to go on an antibiotic for a procedure I was having a week later and it cleared up my cold/chest congestion.

I sought out a friend from grade school, I knew was also running to see if she wanted to run together.  We don’t have the same running style (I like to do a run/walk on long runs, where she likes to just run); however, we were both in similar positions.  Neither one of us were very confident in our running abilities in this race, but were happy to be running with someone and knew together we could probably do ok 🙂

I wasn’t sure how well I’d do not doing the run/walk, so I told her I’d run as far as I could before I needed to start doing the run/walk.  I was able to run half the race with her and was doing really well.  I was on track to finishing in a 4:15-4:30, which was my goal 🙂  I was really proud of myself, however, my first mistake was either not starting out doing the run/walk or stopping at the half-way point to start the run/walk…

By mile 16, I could barely run and by mile 18 I couldn’t run at all.  I had thought about quitting and it didn’t help that my mp3 player ran out of juice; but I really wanted my shirt and my medal (whether or not I felt I deserved it…).  I decided to take it one mile at a time.  It was helpful that I had friends/family at mile 16 and 22 and they were also waiting for me at the finish line.

A part of me is glad that I walked a good portion of it, just because of the fact that I felt really good at the end.  I didn’t feel sick, my body didn’t hurt and I didn’t feel like I was going to die.  I would have prefered to finish sooner than I did, but I finished 🙂  All-in-all, I didn’t do too horribly considering the fact that I walked almost 10 miles and only finished an hour past my goal… Bright Side!!!!!

Lesson Learned: No Marathons, Only Halfs!  🙂

On another note…

Matt, his Grandpa, Uncle, and Cousin all ran the 10 miler!!!  They all did such a great job 🙂  The race was fun for everyone and I’m glad to have been able to share it with so many amazing people!

5 thoughts on “Marathon Fail… Twin Cities Marathon

  1. Reblogged this on sprinkles on top and commented:
    My sister, Mallory, usually writes about all of her cooking adventures. She is an amazing baker!
    She also runs (picking up the sport after me — a little competition perhaps?) and a couple weekends ago, ran the Twin Cities Marathon. It didn’t go so well. But you know, that’s life. I’ve had my share of failed running experiments and I learned a lesson from every single one.
    Here’s Mal’s blog post on her “Marathon Fail.”

  2. Great post Mallory! I’m glad we were in it together (for a while!). I’ll look forward to hearing about your next running adventures (:

Leave a Reply

