The Many Faces of Rice Krispie Treats

We had a family reunion a few weekends ago, and I (like usual) signed up to bring dessert.  I had no idea how many people were going to be there, so I wasn’t sure if 1 pan would be enough… did I need 2?  But then of course looking through all of my pinterest recipes I couldn’t decide, cause they all looked so good!

I really wanted to make something easy, that didn’t need a lot of ingredients and looked/tasted complicated 🙂  I decided on 3 different kinds of Rice Krispie Treats, all super easy but sounded really good!   Caramel Stuffed Rice Krispies, Chocolate Coconut, & Strawberry Shortcake.

Umm, let me just say that these are all really good and you can’t eat just one of each… 😉

Caramel Stuffed Rice Krispies

Layers 1 & 3:

**total amounts listed, you’ll need to 1/2 the recipe for each layer**

1 box Rice Krispie cereal

2 bags marshmallows

6 TBSP butter

Layer 2:

1 – 14oz. can Sweetened Condensed Milk

1 – 14oz. bag caramels, unwrapped (not sure if I really need to mention that, but not everyone is the brightest crayon in the box… 😉 ).

1/2 C. Butter

Layer 1:

Prepare 9×13″ baking pan.  In large pan, melt 3 Tbsp. butter and 1 bag of marshmallows over low heat; pour in 1/2 box cereal (approx. 5 cups).  Mix until cereal is evenly coated.  (I like to keep the pan on the stove to keep the marshmallow mixture warm, makes it easier to mix together).  Press into prepared pan.

Layer 2:

In saucepan over low/medium heat, melt caramels, butter and milk.  Pour over layer 1; refrigerate until set (approx. 30 min.).

Layer 3:

Repeat layer 1 🙂

**to be honest I think the caramel layer is a little thick.  Layer 2 could easily be halved or you can just make 2 pans of bars; who keeps a half can of sweetened condensed milk? 🙂 **

IMG_20130622_181257

Strawberry Shortcake Rice Krispies

1 box Rice Krispie cereal

1 1/2 bags strawberry marshmallows

**if you can’t find strawberry marshmallows, use regular and then add 1 box sugar-free strawberry Jello powder**

4 Tbsp. butter

1 small package strawberry flavored dried cranberries (optional)

**I couldn’t find these, but I believe they would have made a great addition**

1+ C. white cake mix

**the original recipe calls for angel food cake mix, however the box I grabbed had 2 packets and it really threw me off, which is why if I make it again I’ll use white cake.  Also I couldn’t really taste the cake flavor, so I’m not sure if it’s necessary or not**

Prepare 9×13″ cake pan.  In large pot over low heat, melt butter and marshmallows.  Pour in cereal, dried cranberries and cake mix; stir until well combined.  Press into prepared pan.

IMG_20130622_181902Unfortunately it didn’t photograph well, and it kind of looks like brains…  On a positive note, they were really good 🙂

I’m not going to do a tutorial on the Chocolate Coconut Rice Krispies cause I didn’t change anything and I forgot to take a picture 🙂

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

