Snacks & Sweets & Memorial Day Eats

Yes, I realize Memorial Day was a month ago…  But better late than never, right? 😉

Anyway, like I stated in the Memorial Weekend Fun post, we spend the holidays with family friends.  Two of the girls live out-of-state (NY and TX), I texted the girls to find out what they want for food when they came home.  Knowing what it’s like to be away from home and really wanting certain foods when you come home, I was happy to oblige the girls’ requests 🙂

Anne wanted Fruit Pizza, and Liz wanted Oreo Balls!

For the Fruit Pizza, I used the Sugar Cookie Bar recipe and pressed it into a cookie sheet so it was thinner (and then baked it a little less than the recipe).  Then, after it cooled I spread it with a store bought fruit dip and topped it with cut fruit (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, kiwi, and oranges).  So good and so easy!

The Oreo Balls were a completely different story… you know how I feel about my balls!  I just can’t help but make more flavors!!!  And this new one is a real keeper, and I don’t know why I never thought of it before!!!

Blueberry Cheesecake Oreo Balls

IMAG0373ml

These are made the same way as the other Oreo balls I make, just with different ingredients 🙂

1 package Golden Oreos (or vanilla sandwich cookies)

1/2-1 C. Graham cracker crumbs

**start with 1/2 C. graham crackers, add more if the dough is too soft and doesn’t form balls well**

1-8 oz. container Blueberry cream cheese

2 TBSP Powdered Sugar

2 tsp. Vanilla extract

Vanilla melting wafers

**you can use purple or blue if you’d like, to make them more festive** 🙂

Another favorite recipe that I love to bring to holidays, is Caramel Chex Mix!!!  I’m letting you know now that it’s incredibly addictive, so don’t blame me… I warned you 🙂  I got this recipe from a co-worker and I’ve modified it just a little, adding my own little spin on it 🙂

Caramel Chex Mix

1 box Rice Chex cereal

2 C. Almonds (optional)

**you can use Oven Roasted, Sea Salt, Honey, etc.**

1-2 pkgs. Dried Cranberries (optional)

1 C. butter

2 C. Light Brown Sugar

1/2 C. Light Corn Syrup

1/2 tsp. Baking Soda

1 tsp. Vanilla

Paper Bag

Parchment/Wax paper

1.  Pour cereal, almonds and cranberries into paper bag and mix well.

2. In saucepan, mix together butter, brown sugar and corn syrup.  Bring to a boil for 1 minute and then remove from stove.  In a small bowl, combine vanilla and baking soda; add to caramel mixture (it will foam up) and stir.

3.  Pour caramel over cereal mixture and shake to coat. Microwave for 4 minutes, shaking to mix every minute.  Cool on wax paper lined cookie sheet; store in air-tight container.

5 thoughts on “Snacks & Sweets & Memorial Day Eats

  1. Pingback: 4 Recipes That Will Get You Excited About Blueberry Cheesecake Day | Story by ModCloth

  2. Pingback: National Blueberry Cheesecake Day - donnahup.com

  3. Pingback: Blueberry cheesecake balls, golden oreos and blueberry cream cheese tub, yummmmm! - Mimi Delicioso

  4. Pingback: 10 Delicious Oreo Truffle Recipes To Make At Home!Stylish Board

Leave a Reply

