Yet Another Snow Day = Yet Another Bake Day

So we had a snow day in April and another today, it’s May 2nd…  Seriously MN????  I am seriously considering moving back to FL 🙂  It’s funny, over the weekend it was 75* and sunny.  Gorgeous weekend, just absolutely beautiful!!!!!!  And now it’s snowing…

I found these memes on Pinterest and thought I’d share:

If we are going to have winter 8 months out of the year, we need to have a sense of humor, right?  🙂  I have decided I’m not putting away any of my winter clothes, you don’t know when winter ends or begins; always be prepared 🙂

Anyway, since we had the day off from work, I thought I would make something for my co-workers.  I made a status on Facebook stating as much and one of my co-workers commented: Did you know that sometimes we just pretend to close but we all go in? That way we get treats the next day. Clever huh?

I wouldn’t be surprised…  they love free food and goodies and they know I’ll make something if we have a Snow Day 🙂

So what did I make, you might ask?

S’more Puppy Chow & Lemon Rice Krispie Bars!!!!!!  Both were absolutely wonderful and delicious!!  I made a few changes and here are my versions:

S’more Puppy Chow

1 box Golden Graham cereal

1 bag mini Marshmallows

1 bag chocolate chips

Powdered Sugar

In large bowl (or 2 medium bowls 😉 ; try to use bowls with lids, otherwise use gallon size ziploc bags), combine cereal and marshmallows.  In microwavable bowl, melt chocolate according to package; pour over cereal mixture and coat well.  Sprinkle powdered sugar over top, snap on lid and shake!!!!!!!!!

It’s so good, and super addictive; try not to eat it all!

Lemon Rice Krispie Bars

1 box Rice Krispie cereal

1.5 bags mini marshmallows

4-6 TBSP butter

1 box lemon sandwich cookies, crushed

2 TBSP lemon juice

1 TBSP lemon zest

Lemon Frosting (optional)

1. In large stove top pan on low heat, melt butter and marshmallows.  Add lemon juice and zest.

2.  Mix in cereal and cookies (I like to mix it while on the stove cause it stays hot and it’s easier to mix).

3. Press mixture into sprayed 9×13″ pan (I always spray my hands so the bars don’t stick to my hands 🙂 ).  When cooled, spread frosting over top if you want and enjoy!!! 🙂

IMG_2782

This morning I took Melvin outside… When the snow is much taller than you, it can be rough.  He peed right outside the house and when I tried to take him futher out, he hid under my car 🙂

IMAG0349 IMG_20130502_072830 You know, even though it’s May it’s really pretty out!

IMG_20130502_081406

Leave a Reply

