Freezer Meals for Matt: Shrimp Feta and Herb Mac and Cheese

So glad I found this gem!  Doesn’t it sound wonderful and different?!?  And let me just express my love for Pinterest once again!  I’m sorry but I cannot stress enough, how much easier my life is with Pinterest.  I can find so many wonderful ideas and keep them in one place!  As much as I like cookbooks, I think Pinterst is just a great time saver!  Alright enough praise for Pinterest (not like it needs any…), on to a new Freezer Meal for Matt!

I feel like I’ve been doing A LOT of chicken meals.  I try to change it up with beef but it doesn’t happen very often.  I started feeling bad that all Matt’s meals were chicken, granted they were all different meals, but still chicken.  So I decided to try Shrimp, Feta and Herb Mac and Cheese, originally from Annie’s Eats (which by the way has some great recipes, and can’t wait to explore the site!!).

I however, did change this recipe quite a bit, mainly because whenever I make a roux it doesn’t seem to turn out… so I improvised and used my Mac and Cheese recipe and made it Shrimp and Feta!

IMG_2723

Shrimp, Feta & Herb Mac and Cheese

1 lb. Box noodles, cooked and drained

1 1/2 lbs. shrimp (I used mini shrimp, but you can use medium and cut it into pieces), thawed

3 tsp. lemon zest

2 C. shredded Italian cheese blend

8 oz. Feta cheese crumbles

1 can 98% Fat Free Cream of Celery soup

1/2 C. Greek yogurt

1/2 C. bread crumbs

2 Tbsp. parsley

2 Tbsp. Dill Weed

salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 350*, prepare a deep 9×13″ baking dish.

2. Mix together cheeses, spices, yogurt, bread crumbs, and soup.  Stir in cooked pasta and shrimp.

3. Pour into prepared baking dish, sprinkle with addition bread crumbs and cheese if desired.  Bake for 25 min.

For freezing information see the FAQs page

Leave a Reply

