Freezer Meals for Matt: Meatloaf Cupcakes

Not going to lie, I’m not quite as excited about this one as I was about the others…  Meatloaf isn’t a favorite thing of mine to begin with but thought I should change it up a little for Matt, so here it goes…

The original recipe is from Proud Italian Cook, it was a Chicken Parmesan Meatloaf.  I changed it a little cause of freezing, and individual servings…  plus I didn’t want leftover Tomato Sauce… so it’s the same but different 😉

Meatloaf Cupcakes

1 1/2 lbs. ground meat (beef, chicken, turkey… I used turkey cause it was $2 a lb. cheaper…)

1/2 Tbsp. minced Garlic

1/2 onion, chopped

2 eggs

1/2 C. bread crumbs

8 oz. can Tomato Sauce (this is where you can change things, you can use more for a topping if you choose)

1/2+ C. shredded Parmesan, Asiago cheese blend

1/2 Tbsp. parsley

1/2 Tbsp. Basil

salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 375*, prepare baking dish (cupcake pans, bread pans, 8×8″ baking pan)

2. Mix all ingredients together, spoon into prepared baking dish.  Bake 1 hour, when there are 20 min left spoon tomato sauce over top and sprinkle extra cheese on top (if desired).

IMG_2725

I know they don’t look all that appetizing, but they smelled really good! 🙂  I promise!

4 thoughts on “Freezer Meals for Matt: Meatloaf Cupcakes

  1. This says freezer meal. So I was just wondering do you make raw balls and freeze, then bake from frozen in the cupcake pans or freeze after cooking? If freeze after cooking then how do you re-heat them?

  2. I was just curious, you baked them for an hour in the cupcake tins too? I know when you bake meatloaf in the loaf pan it takes an hour, but it seems a little long for the smaller size of a cupcake tin. Did you do a trial and error method. My husband loves meatloaf, but the hour cook time makes it dificult to have on a week night, if I don’t have time to get it into the slowcooker before I leave for work, baking in the cupcake tins, if they actually take less time, might be an option. Thank you, love your recipes.

    • It did seem on the dry side… I haven’t made these since this post (I try to make new things for the hubby), I would probably start at 30 minutes… It might be a good weekend dinner to figure out the time on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

