Freezer Meals for Matt: FAQs

I’ve been asked a couple of questions about how to freeze, what I containers I use to freeze, do I bake first and then freeze?, freeze and then bake?Β  Well, I figured instead of updating each and every Freezer Meals for Matt entry, I’d clarify a few things πŸ™‚

Bake First then Freeze:

For majority of the meals I make for my husband I bake it first, allow to cool and then place into freezer containers.Β  He’s living out of a hotel and therefore only has access to a microwave.Β  He’ll grab meals for the week when he’s home on the weekend, and once he arrives back at his hotel, he thaws everything and just heats it when he’s ready to eat.

Depending on what you are using these meals for, you can do what works best for you.Β  Matt has said they all heat up well and taste good.Β  However, if you’d rather have a ‘fresh out of the oven’ meal, prepare the meal as stated, skip the oven part, and place into freezer containers.Β  When you’re ready for the meal, start at the oven step πŸ™‚

What containers do you use?

Because I have to put them into individual serving sizes for Matt I use the following:

Glad FreezerWare Small: 3 C/24 oz., I usually fill them about 2/3 of the way, sometimes 1/2, they are a little bigger than needed but the size down is too small.

Glad LockWare Small: 2 C/16 oz., these are the perfect size for the meals and they stack really well in the freezer.

Glad Mini Round: 1/2 C./4 oz., I use these for when I make shredded chicken for sandwiches, Matt’s said that these are a great portion size for buns πŸ™‚

If you are making it for family dishes, I would recommend:

Glad FreezerWare LargeΒ (8Β C.)Β , or Glad Family SizeΒ (13 C.)

**I’m not promoting Glad, just giving you an idea of sizes and things πŸ™‚Β  Majority of what I use is either Glad or Ziplock, sometimes the Target brand (however, I did notice that they aren’t a very good quality and tend not to wash as well…).

Please feel free to let me know if you’ve noticed something that works best for you when it comes to Freezer Meals!Β  This is just what I do, because of needing to do individual servings and Matt only having a microwave πŸ™‚

Hope this helps, Happy Freezing! πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Freezer Meals for Matt: FAQs

  1. Pingback: Freezer Meals for Matt: Chicken Tortilla Bake | The Lentzed Life

  2. Pingback: Freezer Meals for Matt: Buffalo Chicken Pasta Bake | The Lentzed Life

  3. Pingback: Freezer Meals for Matt: Shrimp Feta and Herb Mac and Cheese | The Lentzed Life

  4. Pingback: Freezer Meals for Matt: Spinach Artichoke Chicken Bake | The Lentzed Life

    • That’s a really good question… I think about that often, because most people I know want me to send them my Oreo Balls, but they should be refridgerated…
      I used to work in a doctor’s office and we would get refridgerated supplements in the mail and they would be in a styrofoam container with regular ice packs. The styrofoam would be taped extremely well so that nothing leaked and then that box would be put into another cardboard box…
      Otherwise, I always thought about dry ice, but never knew where to go about finding it… πŸ™‚ I hope that’s helpful πŸ™‚

  5. Hi, I have read on many sites to under cook pasta when making it to freeze and bake later, but I have not seen any directions on how much to under cook the pasta by. Do you do this? If you bake and then freeze is this still required? and have you baked a meal to freeze and then re-baked it after defrosting?

    I found anchor glassware that is freezer, oven, dishwasher safe on sale yesterday so I bought a few sets to use. But, if I am using the glass it must be defrosted before going into the oven or microwave. However, I have seen some posts by people using the same set and putting it frozen in the cold oven and cooking longer — I really don’t want my new bake set to shatter from extreme temperature changes though. Have you tried glass at all?

  6. Hi Tara, So many questions πŸ™‚ I’ll just go in order…
    1. I actually have never heard of under cooking the pasta if it’s for a freezer meal. Not saying that it’s untrue though, it does make sense; the moisture from thawing the meal out would help the pasta to cook more while baking or reheating.
    2. I don’t do it (mainly cause I’ve never heard of it). I’ve never had an issue with my pasta being too mushy after thawing and I haven’t heard complaints from the hubby πŸ™‚
    3. I can’t remember if I’ve rebaked something after freezing… It’s definitely something you can do, if you think abut frozen meals you buy at the store… you can either microwave or bake them. Most everything I make is fully cooked so baking it just heats it through and makes the cheese nice and gooey πŸ™‚
    4. If it were me, I’d would thaw it out before throwing a frozen dish into the oven πŸ™‚ I don’t do the glassware, just because I make these meals for the hubby who is traveling a lot for his job therefore the tupperware is easier (just in case he breaks something or looses it…).

    I hope that answers all your questions. πŸ™‚

  7. Hello! I know some people freeze in the 9×13 dish and then “pop” it out and put it in a freezer bag or use the food saver bags. This makes it to where you can use your 9×13 pan in the mean time then when you are ready to bake just put your frozen chunk in the pan and bake it πŸ™‚ Hope this little tip helps πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

