Half or Full?

You are all probably thinking I’m going to start a philosophical question about life and how we perceive things.  Or Pessimistic vs. Optimistic vs. Realistic…

You would be wrong… I’m talking Marathons 🙂  Half or Full?

I keep debating with myself if I want to do another full marathon…  I keep going round and round.  Here are my For and Against reasons:

For: A part of me would really like to try another marathon.  I don’t believe the Disney World Marathon was a good example of a true marathon.  Definitely not saying that it’s not a real marathon in any way, but it’s more for fun and entertainment.  Stopping for photo ops with characters added an extra hour and half on to my time, so a part of me wants to see if I’d do better if it was all about running.  Knowing what I know now, I believe I’d be better prepared for a marathon if I chose to do one again.

Against: I’m afraid to fail…  I know I finished the marathon, and I know starting and finishing is a great accomplishment.  However, I was really disappointed in myself for not being better prepared.  I was disappointed in my time and having to walk the last 6 miles.  What if that happens again?  I don’t want to let myself down again.  I know I can run a half marathon, I’ve done it numerous times… Heck, I even ran 14 miles today just because 🙂  A part of me wants to just keep doing 1/2s and get better with my time, maybe do more difficult courses.

There are 2 marathons that I have been thinking about doing: the Twin Cities Marathon or the Mankato Marathon both in October.  I think both would be great runs and the time of year is fantastic. Training would be awesome cause I’d be able to do all of my training outdoors, which was the downfall of my previous marathon.

I took to Facebook to get feedback from friends and family.  The comments were great about the Twin Cities Marathon, everyone said it was a wonderful course, great for beginning marathoners 🙂

Well, it’s decided Twin Cities Marathon it is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I’m really proud of my decision to try another marathon!  Running has become a great part of my life and I continue to want to challenge myself!  I’d really like to try some more races nearby that offer scenic courses and are fun; if you have MN, WI, IA, ND, SD, NE races you know of that are awesome, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

