Happy ‘Let’s make single people feel left out’ Day

I’m married and even I hate this holiday!  I don’t know if it’s because I was single for a vast majority of my life, but Valentine’s Day is my absolute least favorite holiday.  I’d rather go all out for Safety Pin Day (true story April 10th 😉 ).  Find complete lists of crazy holidays at Brownie Locks (side note: I used to go to this site for fun activities and holidays to celebrate when working at the nursing home, great source!)

Anyway….

If you are in a relationship, you feel the need to make it special and if you don’t do enough your significant other will be mad and if you do too much you’re probably a little too desperate.  And if you are single you are made to feel bad by all the people around you getting gifts or making special plans and you’re just sitting alone on the couch eating your third bag of candy and watching tv….

Sorry to be Debbie Downer, but I just feel like you shouldn’t need a special day to love another person or to show that love… you should be doing special things all year round, not just cause it says so on a calendar…  My hubby and I aren’t the greatest example, cause we give cards like this:

However, hating this holiday aside… I do like themes and food to go along with themes 🙂  Therefore I’m always up for celebrating regardless of how I feel about the holiday 🙂

Work decided to do a Valentine’s Day Pot Luck!  I love Pot Lucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (my mom thinks I over use exclamation points in my blog posts…  false, there’s no such thing as too many exclamation points).

Awesome Pot Luck by the way!  Gotta give a shout-out to all my co-workers for the awesome food that was made/brought today!

I decided to go with Neopolitan Cake!  I made similar cupcakes for a baby shower a few months ago and decided to switch it up a little 🙂

**I apologize I completely forgot to take a picture of the cake before I brought it to work…  so make it yourself so you can see what it looks like 😉 **

Neopolitan Cake

1 box Brownie Mix (+ additional ingredients to make brownies)

1 box Strawberry Cake mix (+ addtional ingredients to make cake)

1 container Fluffy White frosting (or any vanilla frosting… I love Fluffy White, it’s my favorite!)

1. Preheat oven to 350*, grease a 9×13″ baking pan.

2. Prepare brownie mix and cake mix (in separate bowls… not sure if I need to mention that but I will just incase…) as directed on the box.

3. Pour prepared brownie batter into prepared baking dish, making sure to let settle evenly in pan.  Carefully, pour prepared cake mix over brownie batter, spread if needed.

4. Bake 35-45 min or until cooked through.  Frost when cooled.

Happy Valentine’s Day Everyone!  I hope whether you are single or in a relationship you had a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

