Rice Krispies Meet Samoas

When one great thing meets another tasty treat it’s a wonderful thing!

Seeing as how it’s Girl Scout cookie time, I thought it was fitting to use my cookies and make something with them.  Everyone I work with laughed at me when they found out I bought 8 boxes… yes 8 🙂  I’m a good eater and so is my dad, therefore 8 boxes was a good idea 🙂  And if you were wondering, we are down to about 2 (one week later… don’t judge, you probably would eat them if they were sitting around too 😉 ).

Anyway, Matt came home Friday after work and asked if I would make more treats for him.  I never turn down an opportunity to try a new recipe so I headed on over to Pinterest and looked over my Bars & Brownies board; and there it was Samoa Rice Krispie Bars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Genius!

Why had I not made these before??  And the great thing is, why stop at Samoas?  You could make these with Thin Mints, Tagalongs, Do-Si-Dos, or your favorite cookie.  I’ve probably said it before, but I love finding recipes that I can make again but different (if that makes sense…).  Those recipes that have a base but what flavor you make it can be changed 🙂  Love those kinds of recipes, mainly cause I don’t like to make the same things over and over!

Well, enough talk already here’s the recipe:

Samoa Rice Krispies

1 1/2 bag Mini Marshmallows

2 T. butter

1 tsp. vanilla

6-8 C. Rice Krispie cereal

1 box Samoas

1. Cut Samoas into bite sized pieces.

IMAG02822. In large saucepan, over low heat, melt butter and marshmallows.  In large mixing bowl, mix melted marshmallows and cereal.  **I would put the bowl in the microwave for about 30 sec. to soften up the mixture so all the cereal would be coated.  I did this 2-3 times.

3. Fold in Samoas.

IMAG0284

4. Press mixture into greased 9×13″ pan.  **I usually spray my hands so everything doesn’t stick and I can press more easily.

ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  These were super good and I can’t wait to try them again!!

One thought on “Rice Krispies Meet Samoas

Leave a Reply

