My Humps Turns 55 and Eats a Baked Sandwich

Confused?  Maybe I should explain 🙂  My mom’s favorite song is ‘My Humps’… you know the Black Eyed Peas’ song?  My humps, my humps, my lovely lady lumps…  Yeah, great theme song for a mom 😉  At all weddings and gatherings, My Humps is requested and played… so we can all have a great time and show off our dance moves like this one…

mom2

or this classic…

mom

I’m gonna get the ‘look’ when she sees this post 🙂

Anyway, for her 50th b-day party, we threw her a big surprise party. We made t-shirts that said ‘My Humps is 50’ and then mom’s shirt said ‘My Humps’.  It was a pretty epic night!!  Great fun, with fabulous ladies!

my humps

Anyway, mom turned 55 on Friday and it made me think back to that great night!  I can’t believe it’s been 5 years already!  Time really flies when you are older.

For her birthday I asked what she wanted for her b-day dinner.  I gave her a few options and she decided on Baked Sandwiches.

Baked Sandwiches are something I have made for many years, it’s one of those things that is kind of a ‘go to’ meal when you want to make something good but easy 🙂  It’s my ‘fancy’ sandwich 😉

I apologize, but I can’t remember where I originally found this recipe… But here’s how I make them.

Baked Sandwiches

Foccacia Bread

1/4+ C. Pesto

**Hummus would be a good option as well, if you don’t like Pesto 🙂

1/4 lb. deli meat (your choice of 4-5 different kinds, thinly sliced; I tend to get 4 of the following: turkey, ham, salami, prosciutto, corned beef, roast beef–toatlly up to you and what you like)

1/4+ lb. Cheese slices (mozzarella, smoked gouda, provolone, muenster–again it’s up to you and what you like)

Fresh Spinach

Sliced tomatoes

Sliced onion

**the great thing about this sandwich is that you can make it however you want!  Mix up the meats and cheese, omit the veggies or make it vegetarian with roasted peppers, spinach, tomatoes, leeks, etc. So many options!**

1. Preheat oven to 350*.

2. Cut bread in half (hamburger/sandwich-wise; you know what I mean, cut it so you can make a sandwich 😉 ).

3. Spread pesto on both sides of bread.  Layer: cheese, veggies, meat, veggies, cheese and then top with other side of bread.

IMAG0269IMAG0270IMAG0271

4. Wrap with foil and bake 25-35 min or until the sandwich is heated through (I usually get too impatient and take it out after 20 min and just microwave it so it’s heated through 😉 ).

5. Cut and serve!!!

IMAG0272 IMAG0273

Happy Birthday Mom!  Love you!!!

mom3 mom and dadmom4 mom5 mom6 mom7

One thought on “My Humps Turns 55 and Eats a Baked Sandwich

Leave a Reply

