Freezer Meals for Matt: Cilantro Lime Chicken & Rice

This one sounded really good!  I was super excited to make it, until I realized I wasn’t as organized as I thought and forgot a few ingredients… It also didn’t help that I couldn’t find tomatillos at the store, I think it’s mainly cause when I asked the produce guy at Target if they had tomatillos he corrected me and said ‘Tomatoes?’

Fortunately for me, I am pretty good at improvising and making stuff up as I go 🙂  It turned out really good!!!

Cilantro Lime Chicken & Rice

**originally from Sugar Baby Boutique

    Cilantro Lime Chicken

–2-3 chicken breast; diced

–3/4 C. vegetable oil

–Zest & Juice of 2 limes

–3 tps. minced garlic

–2 tsp. sugar (I used 2 packets of Truvia)

–Salt & Pepper to taste

–2-3 T. dried cilantro (I didn’t feel like chopping, and we had the dried cilantro in the cupboard…)

1. Place chicken in gallon-size Ziploc bag.  Whisk together remaining ingredients and pour over chicken, shake and place in fridge for 2 hours minimum or overnight.

2.  After the 2+ hours (or when you are ready to make your meal), pour entire contents of Ziploc bag into skillet and cook on medium heat until chicken is cooked through.  Drain excess marinade.

Meanwhile… 🙂

    Cilantro Lime Rice

–1 1/2 C. brown rice (or white)

–1 1/2 C. water

–1-2 tsp. minced garlic

–1 tsp. sugar (or 1 packet Truvia)

–Salt & Pepper to taste

–1-2 T. cilantro

1. Mix water and rice; microwave per directions (3-6 min.).  When rice is done add remaining ingredients.  OR   Mix all ingredients together and cook rice until done.

    Tomatillo Ranch Sauce

–1 C or 1/2 jar Tomatilla Salsa (I found this at Target, it was Archer Farms.  However, I believe there’s other brands that make this…)

–2-3 T. Light Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

–1/2-1 C. shredded cheese

Putting it all together:

1.  Preheat oven to 375*, spray a 9×13″ baking dish.

2. Pour rice into prepared dish, layer chicken on top, then pour sauce over all.  Sprinkle cheese on top and slightly mix everything together.  Bake 20 min.

IMAG0264ml

I made it again for my parents and they loved it!!!  I think this is going to be a keeper 🙂

2 thoughts on “Freezer Meals for Matt: Cilantro Lime Chicken & Rice

  1. what could I use instead of tomatillo salsa? I thought about using some left over homemade chunky salsa but I’m not sure if it would work..

    • Is it because you don’t like tomatillo or because you can’t find it? I guess it doesn’t matter either way 🙂 I would go ahead and use whatever salsa you prefer, but maybe exclude the lime… I would maybe use a different marinade altogether (a garlic marinade or no marinade would be okay too), something that would pair better with the regular salsa. Or you could just try it the way it is just using your homemade salsa, instead of the tomatillo. I’m just throwing out a lot of options 🙂 Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

