Freezer Meals for Matt: Enchilada Pasta Bake

As I stated in my last Freezer Meals for Matt post, I like simple…  Why make things harder than they need to be, why use more ingredients than necessary if you don’t have to??  I was a little annoyed after I made and then tasted this recipe, cause I’m pretty sure it could have been a lot more simple and maybe even tastier if done differently…

Here’s the original recipe…  I did change the meat to beef, just because I was making a lot of chicken recipes for Matt over the weekend and figured I should change it up a little 🙂

Here’s the recipe I would use instead for next time:

Enchilada Pasta Bake

4 1/2 C. medium pasta shells (cooked & drained)

1 lb. ground beef (or 2-3 chicken breasts; diced)

1 pkg. taco seasoning (+ amount of water stated on packet)

1/2 can black beans, drained (or if you really enjoy beans you can do the whole can, but I thought it was just too beany…)

1 can chunky salsa

1-2 C. shredded taco cheese

**red peppers, green onions diced if desired (and if you want to do more work 😉 )

1.  In skillet on medium-high heaat cook meat until done, add taco seasoning & water, stir until well combined; cool.

2. Mix together pasta, salsa, beans, beef and half of the cheese; pour into sprayed 9×13″ baking pan.  Sprinkle remaining cheese on top.

3. Bake at 375* for 20 min, or until heated through.

IMAG0263ml

The original recipe was pretty good, but if I make it again I’d do it my way 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

