Freezer Meals for Matt: Chicken Cordon Bleu Pasta Bake

It’s a good thing I love my husband cause making 4 freezer meals, plus goodies take a long time… 🙂

On Saturday Matt had to work so I figured it was a good day to make more meals, since he was completely out 😦  Of course when I’m at the store, I get a phone call from my hubby asking if I’ll make Oreo balls so he can bring them to work…

Sure no problem (I should start making things that taste like shit so people wouldn’t want me to make stuff all the time 😉 ).  I actually really enjoy making food and sharing with others, I just wish the world of Harry Potter was real and I could use magic to get things done with a lot less work 🙂

Anyway, after an 8 mile run on Saturday I started cooking, I made:

–Chicken Cordon Bleu Pasta Bake

–Enchilada Pasta Bake

–Cilantro Lime Chicken & Rice

–Cake Mix Cookies from the ALS Cookbook

–Peanut Butter Oreo Balls

I think I started around 11:00 and finished by 5…  and of course we had pizza for supper 🙂

Moving on to the recipe…  I believe I stayed pretty close to the recipe, however I often switch a few things to make it a tad healthier and or changing the amounts of ingredients.  I hope I never offend anyone…

I also try to simplify where I can…  I always giggle a little when recipes have ingredients like pasta and then have uncooked next to them and then #1 says to cook the pasta 🙂

Chicken Cordon Bleu Pasta

**originally from Chef in Training

10 oz. penne pasta (cooked and drained)

1 C. Milk

1/4 C. Greek Yogurt

1-8 oz. pkg. light cream cheese

**feel free to use only Greek yogurt for the cream cheese if you like**

1/2 tsp. onion powder (more or less to taste)

1/2 tsp. garlic powder (more or less to taste)

1 1/2 C. shredded Italian Cheese blend, separated (I am not a fan of Swiss cheese, so I substituted 🙂 )

2-3 chicken breasts, cubed & cooked

3/4 C. diced ham

3/4 C. Real bacon bits

1/4 C. bread Crumbs

1. Preheat oven to 350*, prepare a 9×13″ baking dish.

2. On low heat, melt cream cheese.  Add milk, onion & garlic powder.  Stir in 1 C. shredded cheese until smooth.

3. In large bowl, mix pasta, chicken, bacon & ham.  Stir in cream cheese mixture and pour into prepared baking dish.  Sprinkle remaining cheese and bread crumbs on top.

4. Bake 15-20 min.

**after it cooled, I transfered it into about 7-8 small (the 2 C. size) tupperware containers to freeze

IMAG0257ml

It was really good!!!  If you like creamy pasta, this is a really good recipe to try!  I’m assumming it’s probably way better with heavy cream being used, but I often try to save a few calories here and there… usually so I can have dessert 🙂

3 thoughts on “Freezer Meals for Matt: Chicken Cordon Bleu Pasta Bake

    • I tried just a little bite of it before I froze it all… and I was really impressed by it! Let me know if you use the heavy cream or make it like mine! 🙂 Hope all is well Liz!!!!!

  1. Pingback: Freezer Meals for Matt: Enchilada Pasta Bake | The Lentzed Life

Leave a Reply

