The One with the Christmas Letter

Ahh, the dreaded Christmas letter…  We all feel the need to let our friends and family know the happenings of our year.  We feel like life is too busy to talk to every single family member and every single friend to catch up, so we use the annual Christmas letter to fill them in 🙂

I’m not a huge fan of Christmas letters.  I don’t like writing a full paragraph by paragraph outline of our year & I don’t really like getting them either (cause let’s face it, it’s boring and most of us are too lazy to read the whole thing… am I right?).  Some people are really good story tellers and do a great job writing the family letter.  I am not that person… English is/was not my strongest subject, I’m not creative when it comes to writing never have been, never will 🙂

So, last year and this year I did a template letter… Basically so I wouldn’t have to bore people with my run-on sentences 🙂  This way I could just highlight things we did throughout the year.  I found a few ideas on pinterest of other Christmas letters and tried to use parts of them all to create my own.

christmas letter 2012 b

The quality isn’t the greatest to read it online, so I’ll highlight the months… most of this has been blogged and I’ll attach the think if you want more details 🙂

JAN: My sister and her husband came down to visit!!  We (my sis and I) did the Disney World 1/2 marathon 🙂  After our run we spent a couple of days on the beach in St. Petersberg, FL!!!

FEB: I had so much fun with the 1/2 marathon in Jan. that I decided to sign up for the Disney Princess 1/2 Marathon!!!!!  Matt and I went to Orlando and spent the day before the race at the Magic Kingdom 🙂

MARCH: My parents came down for a 2 week visit.  They stayed with us while they made day trips around FL and visited my godmother in Tallahassee.  One weekend we went down to St. Petersberg for the weekend to hang out on the beach and then I also ran the Sarasota 1/2 Marathon!!  We met up with some old friends from when we lived in FL, we had a great time catching up 🙂

APRIL: We had a great opportunity to head back to the Midwest and watch our close friends, Anne & Travis get married!!!!  We had a blast celebrating with friends and family 🙂

MAY: My BFF came to visit!!!  On the last day, we went to Animal Kingdom and then Matt met us for the Expedition Everest at Disney.  Over Memorial Weekend, Matt and I spent the weekend in Orlando going to Disney, Sea World & Discovery Cove!

JUNE: I decided it was time for a career change & I’m super glad I did.  I started working as a Behavioral Assistant for a family that has 3 children with Autism (great job, loved the kids and the family!!! Miss them dearly).  In between jobs I was able to make a trip home for a visit with the fam & go to Anne’s baby shower!!

JULY: 4 miles + 25 obstacles + Mud & Slime = Superhero Scramble!!!!  We participated in our first mud run with a group of friends and it was a blast!!!!!!

AUGUST: We celebrated our 5th Anniversary!!!  I can’t believe how fast time flies 🙂  Can’t wait to see what the next 5 years have in store for us!  Also in August, I went home (again) for my 10 year HS reunion; had a blast catching with old friends!

SEPT: September wasn’t the best month…  Matt lost his job at the end of the month and we decided to move back to MN 😦  However, we did get to run the Tower of Terror 10 miler!!!

OCT: We moved to MN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Everything happens for a reason and we are happy to be back with friends & family, even if it’s much colder here!!!!

NOV: We both got jobs!!  Matt is working for Marcy Construction as a Project Engineer; during the week he’s in WI and home to Rochester on the weekends.  I am working as a Behavior Therapist at the Rochester Center for Autism and am absolutely loving it!!!!! There are times when it’s challenging but incredibly rewarding! Besides being apart during the week life is still good and we are blessed to have each other along with the love and support from family & friends!!!

FUTURE: I am training for the Disney World Full Marathon!!!!!!  Matt and I will be making a trip back to FL in Jan. for the race and to see friends & Matt’s parents!!!!!

Life is good!  Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays & Happy New Year,

Love The Lentz Family!!!

Leave a Reply

