These Are a Few of My Favorite Things

When we decided to make the move back home I started thinking about all the things I missed from back home.  So I started a countdown…  but my countdown was cut short cause my move date moved up 🙂  I thought I’d share all of them (probably not all in one post, since there are a lot but throughout time I’ll let you know everything I was excited for)!

Besides the obvious things like being able to hang out with our family and friends, being around for holidays, getting to attend baby/wedding showers, and every day life at home; here are the not so obvious:

–Monster Cookies: every year at Christmas time our family makes Monster Cookies!  You may have heard of Monster Cookies before and maybe even had them, but these are the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Peanut butter, oatmeal, chocolate chips & M&Ms!  We’ve made them every year for 25+ years 🙂  The batch makes 12 dozen cookies, and we usually make at least 5 batches.  All the cookies get sent around the US to our friends and family, and also given to co-workers and friends in town.

–Haircut at Radiance Salon (http://www.raydiancesalon.com/): I have been getting my haircut from the same girl for years!  It’s really hard to move and try to find someone who you like and trust with your hair.  It seems silly, since it’s just hair but every time I’ve had someone new cut my hair it just doesn’t look right.  Which is why I only let Jordann cut my hair!!  If you live in Mankato, MN it’s the only place to get your haircut!

–Trader Joe’s: I LOVE TRADER JOE’S!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  They have a ton of really unique food items (I think at least).  I really like the Artichoke Antipasta (there’s a ton of a meals I make that use it), Cat Cookie for People (the chocolate ones are really good), and they have these caramel sandwich cookies that remind me of ones I had in Belgium.  Plus they have cheap wine 🙂

–Spring Musical Trip: Every Spring my sister, mom, and I all go up to the Twin Cities to visit a family friend and see a musical!  We’ve done it every year for about 3 or 4 years, and of course I missed it last year 😦  Our family friend finds a great restaurant for us to try after the musical and then usually visit the Shout House…  which leads me to the next thing…

–The Shout House: The Shout House is soooooooooo much fun!  It’s a Dueling Piano bar and it’s always packed and always a great time!  I can’t believe how talented those Piano players are!  If you’ve never seen Dueling Pianos, you really should!  It’s a BLAST!!!! 🙂

–Movies with Friends and Family: I love going to the movies.  Unfortunately, while we were living in FL I didn’t make too many friends so I didn’t have many people to go to the movies with if Matt didn’t want to see a movie I wanted to see (for example: Hotel Transylvania, Twilight, Magic Mike, & Pitch Perfect).  I went to a few movies by myself just so I could see my movies (which is something I told myself I would never do, cause I think it’s a little sad… but not as sad as dinner by yourself).  Anyways, I’m really excited to go to movies with people again!

–Hy-Vee: If you don’t know what Hy-Vee is… it’s a grocery store located in the Midwest.  I think it’s mainly in MN (southern) & IA.  Anyway, it’s a great grocery store, they have everything!  If you can’t find it at Target or Walmart, you can at Hy-Vee.  They also have really good Chinese & Pizza (including breakfast pizza, which I don’t think the South has ever heard of cause I mentioned it once and ppl looked at me funny).  Hy-Vee also has OREO FLUFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I have no idea what’s in it, I think it’s basically crushed Oreo’s and whipped cream but it’s fabulous and I love it!! 🙂  The weekend after I moved back to MN, Matt and I went to Hy-Vee and grabbed dinner of pizza and Oreo Fluff 😉

–Fall/Winter Goodies: As much as I loved FL weather (I love hot, I’m not a cold person…), I didn’t like that it was ALWAYS warm, and there weren’t really seasons.  It was really hard for me to make fall or winter meals when it’s 75* out.  I didn’t like making or even eating soup or casseroles in FL cause it just didn’t seem right.  In MN, I’m loving trying new meals and goodies to go with the weather and seasons 🙂  (don’t worry I’ll share things I’m making!)

One thought on “These Are a Few of My Favorite Things

  1. Pingback: Family Traditions: Monster Cookies | The Lentzed Life

Leave a Reply

