No Place Like Home: Part 3

Only 8 hours of driving left til I made it to my Grandparents in IA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  (jazz hands excited 😉 ).

By this point I was getting really sick of my mixed CDs… I was on the hunt for a B&N yet again.  There had to be a B&N in St. Louis, MO, and there were plenty I just seemed to not be able to find them.  Seriously why don’t they have signs that say ‘Barnes & Noble this exit’?  I passed 4 malls because there were no signs indicating any type of shopping center!!  I gave up…  I just wanted to get to my grandparents’ house for some pie!!!

A little side note: My Grandma is a really good cook.  She makes everything with lard and real cream.  She has a giant array of foods for every meal… Breakfast; you have the option of Hot Cakes, donuts, homemade cinnamon rolls (with homemade frosting), bacon, eggs, sausage, cereal.  For lunch and dinner; there’s always some kind of meat (fried chicken, chicken fried steak, pork chops, steak), cheesy potatoes, pasta salad, macaroni salad, rolls.  And for dessert she makes at least 3 pies, plus brownies and cookies.  Usually I like to try a little piece of everything… I tend to ask for a little sliver so all the little slivers will add up to 1 slice of pie.  Grandma doesn’t know the word sliver or little slice when it comes to pie…  if you ask for a little of everything, you get almost a full slice of each 🙂 Gotta love her!!! 🙂  She has a little book with all of our names in it and she writes down our favorite foods and also our dislikes, so when we come to visit she makes sure we all have something we like!  It’s pretty easy to gain a good 10lbs in a weekend 😉

So you can understand why at this point B&N had no value to me… I was ready for some quality time with my Grandparents and some home cooked meals!!!

Finally made it to IA at 4ish.  Hung out with the grandparents for a while, ate some really good food (fried chicken, cheesy potatoes, macaroni salad, rolls, chocolate pie with reall whipped cream, & cinnamons rolls for breakfast) before leaving the next morning for home!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I only had about 4ish hours of driving til I was in Rochester, I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited to see the sign ‘You are now entering MN’!!!!

The drive was long and uneventful…  Listened to way too much Pink, Kelly Clarkson, Glee, Carly Rae Jepsen, Dixie Chicks and other girly artists to last me a few weeks 🙂  Saw gorgeous fall colors across the country! Drove through FL, GA, AL, TN, KY, IL, MO, IA & MN… I was happy to be home!

Matt and I are living with the parentals for a while.  I got a job with the Autism Center in Rochester, I’m loving my job and the people I work with.  Matt is working a couple hours away in WI and is home on the weekends; I make him freezer meals on the weekend for the week (which I’ll share recipes soon).

Life is good!!

One thought on “No Place Like Home: Part 3

Leave a Reply

