The Inevitable Leftover Banana Recipe

Ahh, the inevitable leftover bunch of bananas….

I don’t know why, but lately the bananas in our house don’t seem to be consumed very fast.  We have so many other fruits and veggies that have to be eaten that we tend to forget about the bananas…  Sorry Bananas 😦

At least when bananas go bad, you can still use them 🙂  Banana bread, muffins, cakes, cookies, cupcakes, smoothies, etc.  The last time we went through a cycle of not eating our bananas, I was making a lot of banana bread and muffins.  I figured it was time to find a new recipe to use.  Good thing I did, cause these cookie were fabulous!!!!

Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (via myrecipes.com: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/banana-oatmeal-chocolate-chip-cookies-10000001906392/)

**I multiplied the original recipe by 1.5 cause I had 2 small-ish bananas to use; and I don’t always follow recipes so I kind of just make things up as I go…

1-2 ripe bananas, mashed

6 Tbsp. Splenda Brown Sugar

6 Tbsp. Butter, softened

1/4 C. sugar

1 tsp. Banana extract

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 3/4 c. flour

2-3 cups oatmeal

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

dash of salt

1 pkg. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350*. Blend together bananas, butter, sugars and extract until creamy.  Beat in eggs.

2. Combine dry ingredients; add to banana mixture, mix until well blended.

3. Stir in chocolate chips.

4. Scoop dough into 2 Tbsp. balls (I used my handy ice cream scoop) onto sprayed cookie sheets; flatten slightly.  Bake 10-12 min. (after reading the comments I reduced the time significantly); cool on cookie sheets 2 min. then remove to cool completely on wire racks or cooling sheet.

**For a healthier recipe use applesauce instead of butter, agave nectar instead of sugar, omit the chocolate chips.

Leave a Reply

