Coconut Sugar Cookies

Ok so first I have to show off my cutting board!!!  My Gma sent it to me for my b-day (all they way back in April) and I thought I should share:)  How cute??

Alright, back to baking:)

My favorite cookie is a Sugar Cookie or Snickerdoodle….  I don’t know what it is about Sugar Cookies but they are so good!!!!  I also love vanilla ice cream, I’m weird right?  Don’t get me wrong I love all other flavors, but there’s just something about plain & simple that I just love!  I’m also a big fan of coconut (my favorite oreo ball is the coconut).

Anyway, today I decided to experiment Sugar Cookie + Coconut = Coconut Sugar Cookies…  Sometimes it’s a good thing to try out new baking ideas and other times it’s a giant FAIL…

Today was a BIG SUCCESS!!!!!!!!!  Cookies usually don’t turn out for me, they are usually flat, taste good but flat.  These were perfect, a little on the small side, but they turned out really good!

Coconut Sugar Cookies:

3/4 c. butter

1/2 c. sugar

1 egg

1 tsp coconut extract

1 tsp. baking powder

2 c. flour

1-2 c. coconut flakes

1. Preheat oven to 350*, mix together butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

2. Add egg and coconut extract, mix until well blended.

3. Add flour, baking powder and coconut flakes until combined.  **If it’s too soft add more flour**

4.  Roll dough into 1″ balls, roll in sugar, place on cookie sheet, & slightly flatten.

5. Bake for 9 min., let cool on cookie sheet for 2 min., and then remove to finish cooling.

6. Enjoy, while trying not to eat the whole batch;)

3 thoughts on “Coconut Sugar Cookies

  1. Sounds yummy. If you like lemon and coconut together, I have a couple recipes you might enjoy. One is lemon coconut dainties.My Grandma Peterson used to make them when we were kids. The other one is a baked toasted coconut pie.

  2. Pingback: TodaysMama.com - Sugar Cookie Madness

Leave a Reply

