Yellow & Pink Elephants!

A few weeks ago I decided that I needed a change in my life; job-wise.  I had been working at the same company as my husband but decided I wanted to get back into my field as a Recreational Therapist.  As a Rec. Therapist I have had a great opportunity to work with people with disabilities; mostly elderly but either way I have always enjoyed helping others.  Therefore, sitting at a desk for 50 hours a week was starting to get old.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed doing something different and the people I worked with but I wasn’t making a difference in anyone’s life.  So I started looking… and I found something perfect!!!!!

I am now working with a family as a Behavior Assistant working with their three children that have Autism.  I was so excited to get the job and get back to using my skills as a Rec. Therapist to work with these kids!!!

So between jobs I decided to go home for a while (a week and a half).  I timed it just perfect, actually God did, he knew I needed a little family and friends time 🙂  I was thrilled to be going home cause one of my friends that I have known the longest (we are talking 2nd grade, family trips and holidays together; longest friends) is having a baby and the shower was over the time I was home!!!!!!

I love party planning, well mostly the food part of it, so my mom handed me the job of caterer even before I got off the plane;)

Anne (the mom-to-be) and her hubby (Travis, a male model in NY… seriously??? completely unfair:) ) are having a GIRL!!!!!!!  She is doing the baby’s room in Pink, Yellow, Grey & Elephants!!  So of course that was the theme for the party!  Jess (mom-to-be’s sister) was in charge of decorations (she’s an interor decorator so she’s awesome at stuff like that!), Liz (other sister, aunt-to-be) did games and I did some of the food.

Here’s what I planned (I did find the ideas on pinterest, but often I find ideas and just make it up as I go, not always following recipes, so I apologize if I don’t site my resources):

BLT Roll-ups

Sun-dried Tomato & Artichoke Pasta Salad with Shrimp

Jello Cookies (watermelon, strawberry & lemon)

Lemon Cupcakes with Lemon Curd Filling & Vanilla Frosting

Neopolitan Cupcakes

Strawberry Shortcake Chex-Mix

Everything turned out wonderful!!!!!  See for your self!

Didn’t everything turn out just so cute!!??  I got the idea for the cupcakes on pinterest.  They had used champagne flutes and m&ms as filler.  I couldn’t find champagne flutes that were wide enough for the cupcakes but found wine glasses that worked perfectly!!!  Then I found Jelly Bellys at a local candy shop and grabbed 1/2-1 lbs. of each flavor!  We used Martha Stewart shape punches for the elephant and circle, paper from Hobby Lobby and toothpicks for the cute little cupcake toppers!!

**I’ll do a tutorial for the Jello Cookies later;)

After the shower we headed for WI, the grandma-to-be owns a lake house and we often go for 4th of July, Labor Day, Memorial Day and other weekends for fun!!!

My dad is a photographer in Rochester, MN; so we decided to do a maternity session with Anne while we were at the lake!  Here’s a sneak peek at the session:

Check out some more of my dad’s work at www.kynnschulzphotography.com

4 thoughts on “Yellow & Pink Elephants!

  1. It was God’s plan to have you here. We were thankful that you spent that time with us, even though we made you work ; ) Love you!!

  2. Pingback: The One with the Christmas Letter | The Lentzed Life

  3. Pingback: A Baptism & A Football Game | The Lentzed Life

  4. Pingback: Happy ‘Let’s make single people feel left out’ Day | The Lentzed Life

Leave a Reply

