S’more Oreo Balls

How many of you remember The Sandlot??  Every time I hear the word S’more it reminds of that movie and how the kid has never heard of a S’more!!  I always thinks it’s such a tragedy when people haven’t heard of foods that I love!!!!  Moving has made me more aware of this, as most people haven’t heard of Puppy Chow, most pot luck salads, & Special K Bars!!!!!!!!!!!  The mid-west must be in a time and place all of its own.  🙂

Anyway, moving on to the S’more Oreo Balls!!!!  I tried my hand at these about year ago and they turned out ok but not as I had hoped.  I used Marshmallow Cream and therefore they were a little too mushy and hard to form into balls.  I kept thinking there had to be another way to get that Marshmallowy goodness taste!!!!  I ordered some Marshmallow extract, and considered buying Hot Chocolate with those tiny Marshmallow so I could pick them all out and use them 🙂  I don’t know why they just don’t invent things I need….

BACKSTORY:
One fine Sat. Matt and I were grocery shopping.  I thought I’d try out my S’more Oreo Balls (sadly without my mini-marshmallows…. or so I thought) and Matt had asked if I would make hime some Missippi Mud Bars (he likes plain food items… brownies, cookies, white cake and white frosting plain… and if you know me I don’t do plain, if he wants plain brownies he can add water to a box and make them himself…  Yes, I’m a terrible wife).  Anyway, I agreed to make the brownies since they weren’t too plain for my liking so while in the baking isle I was grabbing the Marshmallow Cream when I spotted them!!!!!!

God must have opened the heavens and let the Angels sing right there in Walmart, cause it was GLORIOUS!!!!!!!!   I could now make my S’more Oreo Balls they way I wanted to 🙂

P.S. I made the Missipppi Mud Bars and Matt stated sorrowfully they ‘Weren’t the way his Mom makes them’.

Anyway… Now that I had my Glorious Mini Marshmallows I was set make my Oreo Balls, and you can too!!  Here’s how:

What you’ll need:

**after I had made them I would have changed a few ingredients… I used all these but wouldn’t next time, so below are the changes I would make**

1 1/2 pkgs. Golden Oreo (vanilla sandwich cookies)

**I did 1 pkg. Golden Oreos and about 1/2-3/4 cups Graham Cracker crumbs, it didn’t seem sweet enough, so I would omit the Graham Crackers next time… but feel free to use them if you want.

1-8 oz. pkg. cream cheese

1 container Mini Marshmallows

3 tsp. Marshmallow Extract (use Vanilla if you don’t have any Marshmallow extract)

2 TBSP. powdered sugar

1/2-1 C. mini chocolate chips

**I would use milk chocolate, or better yet some form of Hershey’s chocolate if you can mash it into tiny bits or find it in mini form…. HINT: Hershey’s needs to invent this so these will be perfect 🙂

Melting Chocolate

Food Processor

Step 1:

Process cookies in food processor so they are fine crumbs.  Mix in remaining ingredients (minus melting chocoalte), to make the dough.

Step 2:

Roll dough into small balls, the size of a cherry.  Place on wax paper lined cookie sheets.  Place in the fridge or freezer for about 30 min to an hour.

Step 3:

Melt chocolate.  Dip balls in chocolate and sprinkle (if you wish) with Graham Craker crumbs and top with a (halved) mini marshmallow (also optional).

**Half way through topping with mini marshmallows and sprinkling with Graham Crakers I realized that didn’t look good… maybe next time I’ll pretty it up 🙂

The next flavor I’ll share is Triple Chocolate that I’m making for a wedding!!!  Stay tuned!!!

Leave a Reply

