OMG BLT MAC ‘N’ CHEESE :D (Giant smiley face emoticon)

You bet I went there!!!!  I’m not usually a user of the short-hand text, basically because I believe in correct grammar/spelling/sentence construction (don’t get me wrong I make mistakes but like to think I do ok).  But sometimes it’s ok to use, like now because I would like to get my point across that this is so good that it needs an OMG and a giant smiley emoticon!!!!

Anyway, I often find recipes, try them out and then do it again with changes.  Or I look up recipes get most of the ingredients and don’t look at the recipe and make up my own based on the one I orginally found.

When we were in between moving, Matt was in TX working starting in Feb. 2011 and I was living with my parents from then until I moved in May.  I often made supper (I think that’s mostly the reason they enjoyed having me around).  I rarely make the same thing twice cause I just love trying new dishes!!!  I found one I wanted to try in my Pampered Chef recipe book; 29 Minutes to Dinner.  It was a BLT Mac ‘n’ Cheese (Bacon Leek & Tomato), made with white cheddar, cream cheese, Parmesan all in one pot.  It tasted good, however the cheeses didn’t melt well and it was lumpy.

A few months ago I started making lots of meals on Sunday to freeze for the week.  I make a baked Mac ‘n’ Cheese my mom got from Weight Watchers and I thought I could incorporate the two.  And it turned out really good!!!

What you’ll need:

8 oz. Cellentani Pasta (you don’t have to… you can use elbow, rotini, penne); cooked and drained

1 pkg. 6 Cheese Italian Blend shredded cheese

1 pkg. Shredded White Cheddar cheese

**to make it a little healthier, and to follow more closely to the weight watchers recipe, use only half of each, if you don’t care use all of both 🙂

2-3 pkgs. Real Bacon Bits (or if you are feeling really domestic, cook your own bacon and crumble)

1 small can 98% fat free Cream of Chicken Soup

1/2 cup Light Mayo

1 Leek

3 tomatoes

**yes, I know the picture shows a pepper… I didn’t have tomatoes so I used a red pepper to add color 😉

Salt and Pepper to taste

Step 1:

Clean & chop Leeks (only using the white and light green parts) and Tomatoes.

Step 2:

Mix together remaining ingredients until well combined.

**sorry I don’t have pictures of anything else… I was trying to get a lot of meals made that day and when I get into a zone I forget to stop and take pictures 🙂

Step 3:

Pour mixture into a greased 9″ x 13″ pan.  Bake at 425* for 20-25 min. or until top is a golden brown and bubbling.

**if you choose to freeze, omit Step 3.  Pour into freezer containers and when ready, thaw and bake.  Since it’s just the 2 of us I pour this mixture into 2 containers and bake in an 8 x 8 pan instead; that way there are less leftovers

Enjoy!!!

One thought on “OMG BLT MAC ‘N’ CHEESE :D (Giant smiley face emoticon)

  1. Pingback: Freezer Meals for Matt: Shrimp Feta and Herb Mac and Cheese | The Lentzed Life

Leave a Reply

