Wreaths!!

What does one do when they actually have a nice front door and place to call home?  They make a wreath!!!  That was one of the first things I wanted to do when I moved.  We finally had a nice place and I wanted to make it look inviting.  I really didn’t know where to start, so I used the wonderful world of the internet!!  So many options!!!  After finding a few wreaths that matched my taste, I went to Michael’s and Joann Fabrics.  Do you know how overwhelming Michael’s and Joann Fabrics can be when you aren’t exactly sure what you are doing??  After grabbing the necessary items I thought I needed, I got to work.

Things You’ll Need:

–Foam Wreath

–Jute

–Hot Glue Gun

–Fabric

–Scissors

–Pins

–Thread and Needles

–Any other odds and ends you want to add to your wreath

Step 1: 

Glue one end onto your wreath and start wrapping.  Make sure to wrap tight enough so the wreath doesn’t show through.  This takes quite a lot of time so I hope you have some shows to catch up on 🙂

Step 2:

I really tried following this blog: http://kellyhicksdesign.com/2010/03/diy-yarn-wreath/ but I’m not as talented as Kelly, so I did my best.

Step 3:

Start pinning and gluing until it’s how you like it!  I took some potpourri from my coffee table centerpiece and glued them on.  I also found a wooden letter ‘L’ from Michael’s, spray painted it silver and glued it on.  I also added a decorative bird.

Here’s the finished product:

Once I decided I knew what I was doing I wanted to make one for my Grandma, Sister and my Mom.  I also made a Fall and Christmas wreath for myself!  In the Spring I’ll be making a wreath for Matt’s Grandma and my other Grandma!  I’ll make a tutorial for the yarn wreaths with the felt flowers!!

What do you think?  Which one is your favorite?

My sister’s wreath:

 My Grandma’s Wreath:

My Mom’s Christmas Wreath:

My Fall Wreath:

My Christmas Wreath:

2 thoughts on “Wreaths!!

Leave a Reply

